I was about four years old when I started watching the iconic show, “I Love Lucy.” When I saw Lucille Ball always getting herself in crazy situations and willing to do anything to get into Ricyk’s shows, I knew I wanted to go to Hollywood. And now I’m here! My name is Devarrick Turner and I am a participant in Elon University’s Bridges to LA program.

This experience and opportunity is one that I have waited for my entire life. I’m only 23 years old, but I’ve waited a long time. I’m born and raised in Burlington, NC and trust me, there’s not much happening in Burlington. Burlington is a small town directly beside the even smaller college town of Elon. It was so close that I even lived at home during my four years of college (It was much cheaper). So, this is my first time away from home and living in a big city.

Like Dorothy from “The Wizard of Oz,” I’m not in Burlington anymore. There are a lot of things that I’m going to have to adapt to. Driving is one of them. In Burlington, everyone typically drives slowly with no urgency to get to their destination. I pass these people. However, in LA, I’m the one getting passed (and beeped at)! My journey is never complete without at least one honked horn.

LA moves at a much faster pace than I’m accustomed to and I’ve gotten a little a taste of it. The eight Elon alums have been bonding with each other and we’ve gone out to explore Hollywood’s night life. I’ve also gone out with a few of the current Elon students participating in the Elon in LA program. I also had the opportunity to go the 43rd annual LA Pride parade celebrating the LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender) communities.

Living in LA is definitely pushing me out of my comfort zone. I’m gearing up for the challenge and I’m excited for what’s to come next. The best thing about being in the Bridges program is that I’m surrounded by my Elon family. We are here for each other and we’re walking side-by-side on this great adventure.

I’m living my dream right now and although sometimes it scares me, I plan to make the most of it as long as I’m here. I’ve been humming a song for the past few days and I didn’t know why. I listened to it while writing this post and I think it explains how I feel right now and what most newcomers to Hollywood must feel. Dreams do come true and they’re happening everyday.

